11Sep09

I just finished watching a movie called Three Extremes, which comprises of three completely different short films directed by three directors, Fruit Chan from Hong Kong, Takashi Miike from Japan, and Chang Wook-Park (director of Oldboy). This was probably one of the most visually enticing films I have seen. They are classified under horror but I would call them more of  thriller type movies. I especially liked Chan Wook-Park’s segment “Cut” which I actually just found out it was his segment (and that he was one of the directors) when I looked up the credits to write this post. Anyways, I highly recommend everyone watch this film. Apparently Fruit Chan made a full length movie based on his segment, “Dumpling”. I haven’t had a chance to see it but I would assume it’s as good as the short.

I am a fan of things that are very visually pleasing/harmonious/enticing and in my opinion it is one of the main things that help tell the story of a movie. These three films, give the “horror” genre a new definition by using high contrast, bright colors, and minimal music. Honestly. Check out the trailer.

-AM

No Responses Yet to “”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

